Print Icon Regional Centers


The Central Headquarter of the Directorate is located at Hyderabad. For implementing the mandate of the Directorate, the geographic area of the country is divided into Seven Regions, each under the administrative control of a Regional Director who controls and executes the work through groups, sections and laboratories of that region. For special requirements regarding beach sand investigations in coastal tracts of the country, sectional office/ laboratory are established at Thiruvananthapuram and Visakhapatnam.

Area : 6,06,000 sq km
States : Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir,Haryana, Punjab and parts of Madhya Pradesh
Headquarter : New Delhi
Address : West Block VII, R.K.Puram, New Delhi - 110 066
Contact Person : Dr. B.V.S.N. Raju, Regional Director
Ph : 011-26101450
Fax : 011-26107358
e-mail : rdnr[dot]amd[at]gov[dot]in

The New Delhi office was set up during 1949 as the AMD headquarter,which was shifted to Hyderabad in 1974 and the office at New Delhi remained as the headquarter for Northern Region. Rajasthan was initially a part of the Northern Region, but during 1988 it was carved out to form a separate region as Northwestern Region (now Western Region).

Area : 3,96,000 sq km
States : Andhra Pradesh (South of 15° N latitude), Karnataka and Maharashtra (South of 17° N latitude), Goa,  Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry
Headquarter : Bangalore
Address : Regional Centre for Exploration and Research (RCER),Nagarabhavi, Bangalore – 560 072
Contact Person : B.Saravanan,Regional Director
Ph : 080-23210246
Fax : 080- 23211511
e-mail : rdsr[dot]amd[at]gov[dot]in

This Region was set up in 1956 in a rented accommodation at Patan Bhavan, Bangalore. AMD’s own office/ laboratories and residential quarters were established in 1986 in Nagarabhavi, Bangalore.

Area : 4,38,000 sq km
States : Bihar, Jharkhand, Orissa, W.Bengal and Sikkim
Headquarter : Jamshedpur
Address : Regional Centre for Exploration and Research, AMD Complex, Khasmahal,P.O.: Tatanagar, Dist. East Singhbhum, Jharkhand - 831002.
Contact Person : Anirban Saha, Regional Director
Ph. : 0657-2299807
Fax : 0657-2297689
Email : rder[dot]amd[at]gov[dot]in

Eastern Region was set up during 1959 with headquarter at Kolkata. Subsequently the head quarter was shifted from Kolkata to Jamshedpur in its own premises during 1994. The major thrust of uranium exploration has been in the Singhbhum shear zone. The first uranium deposit of the country was established at Jaduguda in 1951. Subsequently, other uranium deposits like Bhatin, Narwapahar, Turamdih, Bagjata, Mohuldih, etc. were established.

Area : 2,55,000 sq km
States : Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland,and Tripura.
Headquarter : Shillong
Address : Regional Centre for Exploration and Research, AMD Complex, Nongmynsong,PO : Assam Rifles, Shillong – 793 011.
Regional Director : Dr. Rahul Banerjee, Regional Director
Ph. : 0364-2537656
Fax : 0364-2534855
Email :rdner[dot]amd[at]gov[dot]in

Northeastern Region of AMD with Regional Headquarters at Shillong shoulders the responsibilities for the exploration of atomic minerals in the Northeastern part of the country. Exploration for atomic minerals in this part of the country began way back in the 1950's, initially, in Meghalaya and later extended to other states of Northeast India. Based on the outcome of exploration, AMD has concentrated its efforts mainly in the states of Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh and Assam, which have been identified as the most potential states. These states hold the potential for sandstone-type, hydrothermal vein-type and unconformity related uranium deposits, besides rare metal and rare earth deposits.

Area : 5,49,000 sq km
States : Rajasthan,Gujarat and parts of Madhya Pradesh
Headquarter : Jaipur
Address : Regional Centre for Exploration and Research,AMD Complex,Sector-5 Extension,Pratap Nagar,Sanganer,Jaipur - 302033
Contact Person  : V. Natarajan, Regional Director
Ph : 0141-2793598
Fax : 0141-2795488
e-mail : rdwr[dot]amd[at]gov[dot]in

The Region was set up initially as North Western Region during 1988 when it was carved out of Northern Region. It was housed in rented accommodations till recently and in 2004 a new office-laboratory building has been completed. The Region has residential quarters catering to the requirements of officers and staff.

Area : 7,00,000 sq km
States : Parts of Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, and Chhattisgarh
Headquarter : Nagpur
Address : AMD Complex, Civil Lines, Nagpur - 440 001
Contact Person : Suresh Kumar, Regional Director
Ph : 0712-2564469
Fax: 0712-2561438
e-mail : rdcr[dot]amd[at]gov[dot]in

The Region was set up during 1958 as Western Region in a rented accommodation at Nagpur and divided during 1988 into Western Region-I with headquarter at Nagpur and Western Region-II with headquarter at Baroda (now Vadodara). With the closure of Western Region-II at Vadodara, the Region was subsequently named as Central Region and the office and laboratories were moved into AMD's own premises during 1994. The Region has residential quarters catering to the requirement of officers and staff.

Area : 2,03,000 sq km
States : Parts of Andhra Pradesh(North of 15° Lat.)
Headquarter : Hyderabad
Address :

Atomic Minerals Directorate for Exploration and Research,
Department of Atomic Energy, AMD campus,
Survey No.147, Nagaram, Rampally road,
Cherlapally, Keesara Mandal, Hyderabad-500 083.

Contact Person : P.C. Pant, Regional Director
Ph. 040-29708128 
Fax : 040-29708129
Email: rdscr[dot]amd[at]gov[dot]in

The Region was carved out from Southern Region in 1988. Prior to it, all the investigations were carried out from Southern Region, Bangalore. The Office of the South Central Region was initially started in a rented building in Hyderabad and since 1993 it is located within the premises of AMD Headquarter, Hyderabad. In 2016, the Regional Office was shifted to the new campus at CHerlapally, Hyderabad.