Print Icon

VIIIth Webinar on Atmanirbharta in Science at AMD, Hyderabad

VIIIth Webinar on ‘Atmanirbharta in Science’ at AMD, Hyderabad


Atomic Minerals Directorate for Exploration and Research (AMD), Hyderabad, a constituent unit of Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), in association with Indian Nuclear Society (INS), Hyderabad Branch organised the eight webinar on ‘Atmanirbharta in Science’ series as part of ongoing ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ celebrations in AMD on 23.03.2022. The main function was held in Dr. Homi J. Bhabha Auditorium in the premises of AMD Headquarters, Hyderabad, which was webcast in the virtual platform. Several dignitaries, including the Chief Guest Padma Shri Prof. K. VijayRaghavan, Principal Scientific Adviser, Government of India; Dr. D.K. Sinha, Director, AMD and Chairman, INS, Hyderabad Branch and a large number of participants joined the proceedings through virtual mode. Dr. N. Saibaba, Raja Ramanna Fellow and Former Chairman and Chief Executive, NFC; Dr. G. Amarendra, RRF & Former Director, Materials Science Group, Indira Gandhi Centre for Advanced Research (IGCAR); Dr. T. Sreenivas, Head, MPD, BARC; Additional Directors, AMD Shri B. Saravanan, Dr. T.S. Sunil Kumar and Shri R. Mamallan graced the occasion with their presence. Besides, senior officials of AMD, Members of INS, students and faculty from various schools and colleges in Hyderabad were present in the audience. Dr. D.K. Sinha delivered the welcome address. The Chief Guest Padma Shri Prof. VijayRaghavan, delivered the Invited Talk on ‘Science and Technology Directions for the Next Three Decades’. Prof. VijayRaghavan spoke about the long-term vision to bring about innovation-based Science and Technology growth in the country with the ultimate aim of benefitting the society. Thereafter, Dr. T.S. Sunil Kumar, Secretary, INS, Hyderabad Branch proposed the vote of thanks. The programme concluded with the rendering of national anthem.