Print Icon

Xth Webinar on Atmanirbharta in Science at AMD, Hyderabad

Xth Webinar on ‘Atmanirbharta in Science’ at AMD, Hyderabad


Atomic Minerals Directorate for Exploration and Research (AMD), Hyderabad, a constituent unit of Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), in association with Indian Nuclear Society (INS), Hyderabad Branch organised the tenth webinar on ‘Atmanirbharta in Science’ series as part of ongoing ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ celebrations in AMD on 01.07.2022. The main function was held in Dr. Homi J. Bhabha Auditorium in the premises of AMD Headquarters, Hyderabad, which was webcast in the virtual platform. The Chief Guest, Padma Bhushan Dr. V.K. Saraswat, Member, NITI Aayog, Rear Admiral Sanjay Chaubey, Chairman and Managing Director, ECIL; Dr. N. Saibaba, Raja Ramanna Fellow (RRF) & Former, CE, NFC; Dr. D.K. Sinha, Director, AMD and Chairman, INS, Hyderabad Branch; Shri B. Saravanan and Dr. T.S. Sunil Kumar Additional Directors, AMD graced the occasion with their presence. Senior officials of AMD, Members of INS, students and faculty from various schools and colleges in Hyderabad were present in the audience. Besides, a large number of participants, including many dignitaries, joined the proceedings from various parts of the country through virtual mode. Dr. D.K. Sinha delivered the welcome address. The Chief Guest Padma Bhushan Dr. V.K. Saraswat delivered the Invited Talk on ‘Nuclear Power in Energy Transition to Achieve Net Zero Carbon by 2070’. Dr. Saraswat spoke about India’s pledge at COP26 towards a net-zero India by 2070 and the role of nuclear power in energy transition to fulfil this pledge. Thereafter, Dr. T.S. Sunil Kumar, Secretary, INS, Hyderabad Branch proposed the vote of thanks. The programme concluded with the rendering of national anthem.